German Potato Salad

My friend has made this salad for years. She doesn’t use a recipe, but I have watched her a few times and thought I could reproduce it. I tried a couple times but the flavour wasn’t quite right and it was a bit soupy. I decided to look for similar dishes online and discovered they boiled the potatoes in the skin. When I asked her if she did this, she confirmed that she did.  Ah ha! When I made it with her, she had already boiled and peeled the potatoes, so that piece of information bypassed me completely, and turned out to be the missing piece of the puzzle.  By incorrectly boiling them without skins in water, they were no longer “thirsty” enough to take up the broth or vinegar properly. No longer a problem! I have made it twice this week just because I can 🙂

12 small potatoes
1 beef bouillon cube dissolved in 3/4 cup hot water
1 onion, chopped finely
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup white vinegar
Salt and pepper to taste
6-7 slices cooked bacon, crumbled

Boil the potatoes in the skins. Drain and let cool just enough you can handle them to take the peels off. They rub off pretty easily. Slice them, add the onions and and pour the hot bouillon over them. Stir occasionally for even absorption. Add the oil and vinegar, and taste for seasoning. Add the bacon. As the salad cools, the flavours will mellow, so taste again before serving. Serve warm or cold. It can even be made the day before you want to serve it.

2 comments

  1. I love German potatoe salad a lot and do it quite often. We use little pieces of bacon, onions, pickled cucumbers, an apple sliced into very small pieces and mayonnaise. It’s really delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

